top of page
  • williambferreira

Day 3 Dominikushütte to Brixen

Updated: Aug 30, 2021

The standard route is quite easy 75 km but only about 700 m altitude gain. Snow is predicted on the passes tomorrow but if it is not too bad I will consider adding a variant. The only problem the variants are quite tough.


The day started off good it was dry for about 30 minutes. Once I left the road the rocky sections were very difficult to ride as everything was still very wet. There were a couple of quite long sections where I had to carry the bike. Once I reached the stony road it had a lot of loose pebbles, was very steep and it started to rain so there was also a lot of pushing. Two hours after leaving the Hotel I reached the Italian border and the Pfitscherjoch haus. It was very cold, my Garmin says 4°C but felt like -4°C and rainy with a biting wind. I took a short break to warm up in the Hütte (Mountain restaurant) and had a cappuccino an another Apfel Strudel (getting to be a bit of a habit). After leaving the Pfitscherjoch it is a very long ride down a gravel road. It has lots of damage due to the heavy rains so I could not ride at the limit. There were spectacular views all the way down. It was extremely pleasant to reach the bottom the warm Italian air was a relief and my fingers thawed out nicely. I even took a couple of minutes to play fetch with a border collie.


The ride to Brixen was quite pleasant except 10 km from Brixen there was a detour that took me completely off my route and I had to do some spontaneous re-planning.


The rocky climb in the morning put a lot of pressure on my knee. I hope it will be ok in the morning.


Unfortunately the memory on the gopro ran out in the morning, but I took a few more photos then normal


81 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


Miembro desconocido
30 ago 2021

Here the link to the live tracking. https://livetrack.garmin.com/session/6d9f6ed3-1972-4afc-ae2b-663a753f6479/token/1468689CBA27F0ACB2C4F45FD4D0F35C

Me gusta
bottom of page