top of page
  • williambferreira

Last minute preparation and panic

Saturday afternoon did a final service on the Bike after washing it. When I was finished I took a closer look at the tyres. Somehow in the last couple of weeks the training had really eaten away on the tread. With tubeless tyres it is not a good idea to change them and not have a couple of test rides. So 17:30 we rushed off to the local Bike shop and picked up two new tyres. During installation I notice the rim tape on the front wheel needed to be renewed. Luckily I had a roll. If you have ever done a tubeless installation you will understand my panic. (Video on an installation fail) However everything went like a dream and I had the new tyres fitted in no time. Sunday morning I sheepishly went to inspect the bike to see if the tyres were still ok. To my surprise all was good. This meant I could do the final test, take the bike for a quick hard 40 km ride.

While checking the what I need to know about the rules on riding a bike in Italy I saw we need a 50X50 cm chevron for the Bike trailer. All options to buy one online meant it will arrive on Friday which would cut it fine. The debate was risk the €80 fine in Italy take a chance and oder it for €30 and hope it arrives? ... lets see maybe I will find an alternative. I could always give Anne-Marie a pair of wire cutters and she could shop around at the parking stops on the Autobahn :-).


The weather is not looking great for Friday and Saturday so I will most probably get quite wet on the first two days, but I suppose that is all part of the experience.


To top everything the train drivers have decided to strike Today and Tomorrow, let's hope that they stick to their plans.


Regardless I am still smiling and can't wait to get started.

68 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Unknown member
Aug 27, 2021

The trip has begun. I wish you the first 3 days a stressless ride. See you soon. xx

Like
bottom of page